Map of Hospitals that are Being Fined for Harming Patients

From, Feb.23, 2021.

The HAC program, which launched in October 2014, evaluates hospitals based on their rates of several avoidable complications, including bed sores, blood clots, central line infections, falls, and infection from methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) or Clostridium difficile (C. diff).

Every year, the facilities in the lowest-performing 25% are penalized by losing 1% of their Medicare payments. So far, the program has penalized 1,978 hospitals at least once since it was established in 2014, according to a Kaiser Health News analysis. Of those, 1,360 hospitals have been penalized at least twice, and 77 hospitals have been penalized each year the program has been in place.

Congress exempts the more than 1,000 critical access hospitals, as well as Maryland hospitals, and certain specialized hospitals (children’s, psychiatric, and veterans) from the penalties. Overall, according to KHN, 2,057 hospitals were exempt from this year’s HAC program.

See how your hospital fared

View your hospital’s HAC results and see any estimated penalty with our national Pay-for-Performance Map.

Hospital Pay-for-Performance Map

Cheat sheet: Hospital-Acquired Condition Reduction Program


Be the first to comment on "Map of Hospitals that are Being Fined for Harming Patients"

Leave a comment